The Bad Guy

R.I.P. Rudy Ray Moore

Rudy Ray Moore passed away yesterday, and I am a bit sad about this.  Not just because he was a great force in independent film, a comedy innovator or even an accomplished singer.  No, I’m upset for personal reasons.

Back in 1991 I managed to get an interview with Mr. Moore for my college radio show. His manager gave me his home phone number, and we chatted for over an hour about all his movies and his plans for the future.  Among these plans were numerous tours, a new Dolemite movie and some new records.  During the whole time I was a nervous fan doing my best to keep up with him, but he did an amazing job not ridiculing my amateurish demeanor and anxiousness.  He was all class.

Less than a year later I was going through a difficult time.  A woman I was into had just dumped me and none of my friends came even close to giving a damn and brushed me off.  At the end of my rope I found Rudy Ray Moore’s phone number and called him up for advice.

Yeah, that’s right.  I turned to the Dolemite in my time of crisis and isolation.  And guess what?  He answered his phone and he actually talked to me.  He listened to my problems, he let me vent, got me to laugh a little and made me feel, in general, better.

And that is what I’ll miss about the man.  He gave a damn about the people around him.  The fact that he would take a call from a stranger and help him out says volumes about him.  And I’ll be honest, I was not in the best state of mind that day.  He had every right to to tell me to fuck off, but he did not.  He was a man who realized that every fan is important, and every human being deserves respect.  That is why he will always be a great man in my book, and that is why he will be missed.

October 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Olu00e1 eu quero remover esta notificau00e7u00e3o de windows falso e sei que o programinha de remove wga funciona mas eu atu00e9 consigo encontrar na Click http://s.intmainreturn0.com/bayy091615

    Comment by barrdennis43347 | April 9, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

