The Bad Guy

Joe Biden

Watching the DNC can be trying. Every time the band starts to play, I keep thinking that Sammy Davis, jr. is going to show up and do a number (and I’m always disappointed that he doesn’t…could be because he’s no longer on this mortal coil), the red, white and blue hats bug the hell out of me and there’s some jackass with a god damned tambourine that keeps shaking it at every applause line.

Sure, I liked Hillary’s speech last night, and I enjoyed the staged theatrics with the roll-call today. I love it when a person from each state gets up and rambles on for a minute about the “Great State of _____.” It makes me wish that I could be up there to do that, or at the very least write a more memorable one for someone else to deliver:

“The great state of California, home of kicking ass, and taking names.

Home of reasonably priced, semi-legal weed with a prescription.

Home of Motley Crue, Van Halen.

Home to San Diego, gateway to Tijuana…The best damned weekend you’ll never fess up to your wife about.

The state that is home to Hollywood, where millions of dreams go to die every year.

Home of San Francisco, home of the world’s most industrious tweakers, fucked up hills, dirty, smelly hippies and the world’s first unionized and worker-owned peep show… The great state of California cast it’s votes for…”

But nothing like that will ever happen.

Anyway, I watched Joe Biden’s speech just now. Yes, he did a good job. A little long-winded, but a good job. Don’t get me wrong, I like Joe Biden. For all his verbal gaffs, I like his grasp of foreign policy, and his ability to explain complex issues in colloquial terms. He’s really good that way. But my big problem with his shining hour occurred right at the beginning of video intro.

You know what I’m talking about:

“It’s not how hard you can hit, it’s how hard you can get hit and get back up.”

Wonderful line. I loved it when Rocky said it.

And this is not the first time he’s borrowed this bit. He said it in a speech back in 2006 right after the Rocky Balboa teaser trailer came out. And he used it again tonight…Twice.

I know, it’s a minor quibble, but I guarantee you some McCain guy is going to bring this up and reference the plagiarism scandal from ’88. The campaign people should have caught this right away and omitted the line. But now it’s out there. Good job. The Obama campaign just made a molehill that the Republicans can easily make into a mountain.

What makes it even worse is that Stallone is a McCain man.  How easy would it be for Stallone to personally get involved and express his displeasure at Biden for stealing his lines?  Very.  And this stuff would stick.

God, I hope I’m wrong about this.

August 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

