The Bad Guy

Don Imus

First off, I’ve never been a fan of Don Imus so I do not feel any loss or surprise over him being suspended by NBC and CBS. I also am not surprised by the kind of coverage this story has gotten on the various cables news networks. I will, however respond.

Tucker Carlson

I’ll answer Tucker Carlson’s question first. Yesterday he asked why Don Imus is just getting a suspension when George “Macaca” Allen got hammered by the press and voted out of office. He wondered if the liberal bias of the media had anything to do with it. OK, Mr. Carlson, I’ll answer you. Imus got suspended from two networks for his remarks and the coverage on cable news has been continuous for the second day in a row. This is hardly light treatment. Imus is not getting away with anything and he might still lose his job. Suspension many times means that TPTB are figuring out how to end the problem for good. And even if Imus IS being treated more favorably than Allen, there is a better explanation than “liberal bias.”

You see, Don Imus is a RADIO HOST and George Allen was a UNITED STATES SENATOR. Really, who would you hold to a higher standard? The idiot with the radio show no ones listens to anymore or a man that votes on legislation that affects all Americans and represents the people of Virginia? Yeah, I thought so. And don’t come back with Robert Byrd, because I don’t like that guy, either. If you want to have a serious discussion about how certain people in the public eye remain insulated from attack there are better explanations than “liberal bias,” but that is an issue for another article.

Hannity, O’reilly, Malkin

Their opinion is clear “If a Conservative Republican said those things, he or she would be fired!” The thing that bugged me about that was it seemed that all the Conservatives wished that they could say racial slurs and get away with it, too. Sorry to burst your bubble, but you can’t. But just a thought, if you REALLY have this pained urge to shout racial slurs, just get it out of your system and stop feeling like a victim because the “big bad liberals” won’t let you be overt bigots. Let’s see what happens.

I guess what I’m trying to get at is that this whole Don Imus story has nothing to do with Left v. Right. It’s about a man who has a history of saying stupid, ignorant, unfunny things being held to account…Oh shit! I just figured out why Hannity & O’Reilly are so scared by this.

April 10, 2007 - Posted by | bill o'reilly, don imus, FOX NEWS, Hannity & Colmes, MSNBC, News and politics, Tucker Carlson

4 Comments »

  1. To me, this is a sexist issue, NOT a racial issue. And when did Imus turn into The Cryptkeeper?

    Comment by Myrtle | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Don Imus was just dropped from MSNBC.

    Comment by thebadguy | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] I mentioned that Don Imus might still get fired.  Looks like I was correct on that assumption.  The way his NBC colleages talked about him I knew […]

    Pingback by Don Imus Fired « The Bad Guy | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. […] Very Last Imus Post, I Promise. For the last couple of days I have written a couple of posts about Don Imus, a man who I really never cared about before this week. But write about him, I did, […]

    Pingback by My Very Last Imus Post, I Promise. « The Bad Guy | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

