The Bad Guy

Dennis Miller on O’Reilly (3/28/07)

It’s no secret that I’ve not been into Dennis Miller recently. It’s also no secret that I have not been that nice about it. But I’m getting the impression that he may be coming back to us. No, he’s not moving his act towards the center, but he may be getting funnier again.

I have to admit that I was amused when Miller appeared on the Daily Show last night. I don’t know what happened, but he seemed to be having fun again. I may not have been belly-laughing, but I was astonished that he had new material, that he seemed crisp and ready to play off Jon Stewart. It was a glimpse of the man I made time watch on HBO and SNL all those years ago.

So I’m watching O’Reilly tonight and though that same playfulness from the Daily Show was not there, he still seemed crisp. So I’m cautiously optimistic about his new radio program.

The first topic he spoke on was Rudy Giuliani. Turns out that a lot of news outlets, politicians, bloggers, YouTube users, friends of yours, family, drag queens, evangelicals, terrorists, children, house pets and possibly deep sea creatures have been talking about how great Rudy Giuliani looks in a dress. Miller claims that it’s not an issue when compared to all the GREAT things he did as mayor of New York City.

I’ll concede to Miler that we should look at Giuliani’s record first. But Giuliani is a bit of a head-scratcher. I already understand the Republican need for a “law and order” type of guy like Giuliani. But it’s all those other things that just get in the way. The Marriages, the infidelity, problems with the kids, this:

OK, that was a bit of a cheap shot…So’s this:

And I have nothing against folks who like to dress up like matrons of high society. I just think it’s funny that this guy is the Republican front runner for PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. So don’t look at the media saturation of “Rudy in a dress” pictures as a way the left intends to tear him down. No, if anyone is going to tear down Giuliani it will be his own side (do you think Dobson or Fallwell will back the guy?). Instead, try to look at the media constantly bringing up “Rudy in a dress” as the only way to humanize a man who, quite frankly, scares the crap out of many Americans.

So, Dennis Miller, welcome back! I may not agree with your politics, but I’m glad you’re finding your path again. And Rudy, what can I say, you know how to wear an evening gown.

March 28, 2007 - Posted by | bill o'reilly, Dennis Miller, FOX NEWS, rudy giuliani, TV

2 Comments »

  1. It would be great to have a president that was so cool that he could have videos of him doing drag out there, and still win. Someday.

    Comment by geltsgirl | March 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. The dream and the reality are usually worlds apart. We might dream of having someone like Eddie Izzard be President, but sadly we’d get someone more like Emperor Elagabalus.

    For more on Elagabalus: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elagabalus

    Comment by thebadguy | March 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

