The Bad Guy

First Amendment Leadership Award

I just got done watching the tail end of this years “First Amendment Leadership Award.” And who was the recipient? Roger Ailes of FOX News. I had a whole bunch of snarky comments to share about the man, but I won’t do it. Instead I offer:

-Highlights-

– A video featuring members of the FOX News “A” squad giving testimonials about how much they love their boss. Nothing to pick apart there. Though I will say that if I was ordered at camera-point to say how awesome my boss was, I’d probably end up doing it. Especially if it meant that I got to keep my job. I think my favorite part was Bill O’Reilly teling a story about how they went after the Red Cross after 9/11, and went after state governments about child protection and treated them as villains. Not only that, but Bill even admires Ailes when he yells at him.

What a lovely image. Imagine that in your own hour of glory, one of your employees pipes up with stories about how you threaten people. And Imagine, if you will, that this is one of the many things this employee finds AWESOME about you! To be fair, there were also testimonials from Steve Centanni and Olaf Wiig who do owe their lives to Roger Ailes tireless efforts secure their freedom.

-Rogers Ailes gave an acceptance speech made up of jokes that I’m pretty sure the “1/2 Hour News Hour” writers gave him. One such gem was “I think [Global Warming] may be a trick to keep our anchors from using blow-dryers.” Another one relayed the story of a French man running over a Middle Eastern man because the guy looked like Osama Bin Laden ( he made the point that it was France’s biggest military victory ever).

-Here’s a joke that launched a massive sucking sound in the room: “It is true that I said that Britney Spears looked great at the Academy Awards…And I later found out it was Jack Nicholson.”

-Responding to the outrage over FOX News sponsoring a future Democratic Presidential debate, Mr. Ailes called for an end to playa hatin’ and to commence the playa capitulatin’. In his words, he denounced those “pressure groups” that wish to impede candidates from appearing on FOX.

-Another good quote: “The greatest danger to journalism is a newsroom…where everyone thinks alike. Because then, one wrong turn can cause an entire news division to implode.” I have no idea what news division he was speaking of, but I’m guessing the initials are “C,” “B,” and “S.”

-A the end of his speech he talked about religion, wishing that Americans would give Christians at least 2 weeks of respect every year (I guess if this doesn’t happen we’ll have yet another war on Christmas).

Since I know very little about who makes up the RTNDA I’m going to steer clear of slinging mud at them for such…a unique choice for this year.

March 8, 2007 - Posted by | C-Span, First Amendment Leadership Award, FOX NEWS, roger ailes

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

